Aloha! This page provides information to stakeholders about our school’s finances and operations for School Year 2017-18 via our Academic Plan and Comprehensive Financial Plan. Our School Community Council (SCC), made up of principals, teachers, staff, students, parents and volunteer community members, helps to craft and approve these plans for the following school yar. An election is held annually to set membership on the SCC. If you’re interested in joining our SCC, please contact the Principal. Learn more about School Community Councils on the Hawaii DOE website:

  1.   History & Purpose

  2.   Membership & Operations

  3.   Functions

Wheeler Elementary School’s 2017-18 School Community Council:

  1. Roster of members

  2.                 Administrator: Kendrick Kakazu

  3.                 School Staff Representative: Cheryl Razon

  4.                 Parent Representatives: Salena Lee, Laura Buckley

  5.                 Student Representative: James Bennett

  6.                 Teacher Representatives: Leslie Shimokawa, Lacey Walters   

  7. Meeting Schedule

  8.                 September 6 - 5:30 Wahiawa Library

  9.                 October 17 - 2:30 Office Conference Room

  10.                 November 14 - 2:30 Office Conference Room

  11.                 December 12 - 2:30 Office Conference Room

  12. Meeting Minutes

  13.                 September 6

  14.                 October 17

Community Meetings

At least twice per year, we will convene meetings for the broader community to provide input on our Academic and Financial Plan.

2017 - 2020 Academic Plan

2017 - 2020 Comprehensive Financial Plan

Schools publish an Academic Plan and Comprehensive Financial Plan each yar to set the goals and priorities for student learning, programs and initiatives, aligned to statements of funding.

Our plan was approved by our School Community Council on April 20, 2017 and by Complex Superintendent Bob Davis on May 1, 2017.

Bell Schedule:

Hawaii’s public schools are required by law to implement bell schedules that categorize learning and non-learning minutes of the school day (Act 167/Act21), meeting a minimum of 1080 student hours each year.

EESA Hawaii Qualified Teacher Memo